Traffic Ticket FAQs
Are red light cameras legal in Texas?
Yes, under Chapter 707 of the Texas Transportation Code. This code establishes procedures and specific processes for local entities to implement red light cameras, enforce red light laws, impose penalties, and create hearing and appeals processes.
How much is a typical traffic fine in Texas?
Traffic fines in Texas are like those anywhere else in the U.S. – they vary depending on the nature of the traffic violation. For example, fines for failing to buckle your seatbelt can go up to $250 in Texas. On the other hand, if you are convicted of DUI, you could face a fine of up to $2,000 for a first offense, up to $4,000 for a second offense, and up to $10,000 for a third offense. In addition, you could also lose your license and be sentenced to jail.
How many people are killed each year because of alcohol-related crashes in Texas?
According to a September 2011 report from the Texas Department of Transportation, in 2010:
- 639 DUI drivers died
- 88 pedestrians and cyclists died
- 194 passengers in vehicles driven by DUI drivers died
- 146 people in vehicles not driven by DUI drivers died
- 8 others died
Should I just pay the traffic fine and move on with my life?
Even if you're facing a minor traffic ticket with a relatively inexpensive fine, it may make sense to fight back with a Brownsville traffic ticket lawyer. When you pay a fine, your driving record will reflect it and you could see higher insurance premiums as a result. In Texas, if you have 6 points on your driving record, you will be charged an annual surcharge of $100 plus $25 for each additional point. In addition, if you get a second or third ticket, the penalties could be dramatically different.
What does it mean to jaywalk?
The term "jaywalking" is slang used to describe pedestrian moving violations. For example, if you enter a crosswalk at a controlled intersection when the "Don't Walk" signal is flashing, you could be cited for "pedestrian crossing against sign."
Can I go to traffic school for my traffic ticket?
Traffic school is an option for some drivers but not for all. To start with, you must not have enrolled in traffic school in the past 12 months. In addition, many traffic violations do not qualify for traffic school under Texas Transportation Code Section 522. In addition, if you have a commercial driver's license, you do not qualify.